[Liste Smai] Heidelberg Laureate Forum 2018

Chères et chers collègues,

Je vous transmets le message ci-dessous, reçu par l'intermédiaire du Comité National Français de Mathématiciens (CNFM), concernant "The 6th Heidelberg Laureate Forum". L'appel à participation des jeunes ou futurs mathématiciens et mathématiciennes me semble en particulier très intéressant en regard de la candidature française à l'organisation de l'ICM2022 (pour mémoire le site de la candidature est http://www.icm2022-paris.com/).

Bien cordialement.

T. Horsin,
Président de la SMAI

To: The Adhering Organizations of the International Mathematical Union (IMU)
Dear colleagues,
The 6th Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), see 
will take place in Heidelberg, Germany during September 23 – 28, 2018. 
At HLF all winners of the Fields Medal, the Abel Prize, the ACM A.M. Turing 
Award, the Nevanlinna Prize, and the ACM Prize in Computing are invited to 
attend. In addition, young and talented computer scientists and mathematicians 
are invited to apply for participation. The previous HLFs have been an exceptional 
success. The HLF serves as a great platform for interaction between the masters 
in the fields of mathematics and computer science and young talents.

Applications for participation at the 6th HLF are open in three categories: 
Undergraduates, PhD Candidates, and PostDocs. See the webpage 
for the online application and further information. The IMU Adhering 
Organizations and national mathematical societies can nominate young researchers. 
Nominated persons get “priority treatment”, but, since there may be too many 
nominations, they have no acceptance guarantee. During the nomination process 
you will be asked for an Org-ID, which is IMU38526 for the IMU. The deadline for 
application is February 9, 2018. 
IMU asks its Adhering Organizations to distribute this information among their 
national mathematical communities, if possible through the newsletters of the 
national mathematical societies. 
The HLF was initiated by the late German entrepreneur Klaus Tschira, and is 
supported by the Klaus Tschira Foundation, The Norwegian Academy of Science 
and Letters, The Association for Computing Machinery, as well as The International 
Mathematical Union.

Helge Holden

Prof. Helge Holden
Secretary of the International Mathematical Union